Off to a bad start

For the last few days I’ve been working a bit on a tongue-in-cheek New Years post.  It was going to be an update but generally just silly, stupid stuff.  I was trying to start off the new year with something at least a little upbeat.

Yeah, that post got derailed today.  I got a call from a family member that was unexpected.  I’m not going to go into any details, I don’t talk about other people here, but someone close ended up in the hospital.  Don’t ask for anything more specific, I won’t answer.

It’s bad though.

Maybe the worst part for me is that the situation pulls up so many things I want to write about, talk about, share, commiserate, and my natural inclination is to do that here.  But I can’t for many reasons.

My second reaction would be to talk to Stephanie, we might not have worked out dating but she’s been one of my closest friends ever since, but it’d traumatize her more than it does me.  She’s a sensitive soul.  I’d end up letting her cry on my shoulder rather than the other way around, and that’s not going to help anyone.

So…  On to the third option?  I’m not sure what that is though.  I could just write about it and never publish it anywhere, but I feel like that’s not going to do it with this situation.  There’s a lot of mixed feelings, reactions.  Maybe I should look up the number for some local therapists again.  My last foray into the mental health world didn’t go too well, but it might be time to give it another shot.

I can only say that hopefully the year can only get better from here.

And hopefully yours started off better than my family’s.

Now, excuse me while I spend the next couple days looking at photos of cats.

http://thechive.com/2016/01/02/cat-saturday-26-photos-26/

9 thoughts on “Off to a bad start

  1. I, of course, like the therapist idea….there really are so MANY different therapy styles out there, that I STRONGLY encourage you to keep trying until you find one you like, cause you will eventually…AND I AM so sharing those cat photos to my cat friends….I’m not a small dog person, but just saw this (the guy was deployed in Afghanistan) and maybe it’ll make you smile =)

  2. Yep, no harm in seeing a therapist, but I also find that simply talking to the wife clears my head… occasionally simply airing a thought helps with perspective as well

  3. Anyone who has advanced training in Biofeedback.

    Anyone who is EMDR Part 2 certified with specialty in CPT.

    Anyone who has advanced training in Cognitive Processing Therapy (CPT). You can look up their names and know that they’ve been trained. NOT someone who just says they are but just took a 4 hour workshop in it.

    Ask if you can get a phone consultation before you decide to see them, explaining your ambivalence to try therapy again. Some do, some don’t. (good ones will).

    During the phone call:
    Tell them a summary of what’s going on, some symptoms, and ask:

    Their training? Specialities? The type of homework you’ll be assigned? You can also tell them that you’ve heard of CPT and/or EMDR and/or Biofeedback and ask them to explain how it might help.

    A good therapist will be concise, will not waste your time with BS, and will answer any questions or concerns. They will take this time to educate you. That’s when you can determine if their training and their personality jives with you. Good Luck.
    Feel free to delete this. No harm, no foul.

  4. Sorry to hear about your rough start to the year. If it’s any consolation, I rang in the new year in the emergency room myself. It can only go up from here, right?

Leave a Reply

