People Suck

You ever have those weeks that feel like you’re in a Super Villain origin story?  Everyone just seems so stupid and ridiculous and nothing goes your way?  Like the universe is pushing you toward the extremes and by the end of the week you’re cackling madly and dreaming of killer robot designs and world domination?

Maybe that’s just me.

This week was one of those.  I switched up a bunch of stuff in my life, diet and exercise schedule, because I’ve got a race coming up.  The result of which has been an intolerable case of insomnia.  I never have a problem getting to sleep but this week has been a nightmare.

And when I don’t get enough sleep EVERYTHING is horrible.  This was a crap week to begin with, throwing on the insomnia just added fuel to the flames.  People suck, I’m pretty sure I hate all of them.  They have no redeeming factors.  Friends, family, coworkers, school admins, random strangers, they all suck.

It might not be enough for me to go “full hermit” anymore, I might need to find a wolf pack that’s looking to adopt.  Well, either that or go the villain route.

With friends I’ve often joked that I could be one hell of a Super Villain if I ever got pushed too far.  I know just enough about a lot of different things that I could cause some serious trouble… and I’m clever enough that if I put my mind to something I can figure out a way to make it happen.

Last week I gave one of my anti-social media, they’re going to destroy life as we know it, rants to Stephanie.  She laughed and jokingly asked “Well, what can you do about it?”  Then she saw the look in my eye and was troubled.  She knows me too well.  If I really wanted to find a way, I could.

Something to keep in mind, all you people that mess with me.  If I don’t start getting more sleep you’d better keep your eyes to the sky.

21 thoughts on “People Suck

      • So, just because they’re trying not to suck they should get credit, whether or not they still suck? The results don’t matter, just the effort?

      • The results absolutely matter. And trying to “not suck” in a way that provides meaning to people and those they surround themselves with takes time and patience and forgiveness. And that’s where results take place. There’s no way that everyone can get everything right. Like there’s no such thing as a perfect parent but the one who tries in a way that their children will feel genuine love and effort and change, is one that could absolutely be considered an excellent parent. To me, trying is active. It’s learning from mistakes and trying again to make things whole. So I do think there’s value in trying. In effort. And yes, people who try in that way should get credit.

      • Ah, sounds like someone took this personally. Tsk tsk. So, you’re saying that an alcoholic parent who tries and fails to be better should get credit even while ruining their children’s lives and putting them at risk? Sure, gold star for trying, but the proof is in the results. It’s easy to “try”, actually doing something is a lot more difficult. People with a lot of excuses are always “trying”, doesn’t mean much. To quote Yoda, “…there is no try…”

      • OMG. Did you just “tsk” me??? I’ve never been “tsk”ed before. And pull the alcoholIc parent card? And then quote Yoda? Awesome triple play, Anakin.

        But along those same parenting lines, I said if children felt genuine love, effort, and CHANGE. So basically you just admitted that I’m right.

        Do or do not, there is no try.
        Yoda didn’t last long as our rugby coach.

      • I didn’t admit you’re right, that would be a blanket acceptance, I basically said that “try” is a cop out. It’s better than nothing but not by much. It’s like you’re trying to claim victory because you got a “D” on a test. Sure, it’s better than an F but it’s nothing to be proud of.

      • For a person to say they are trying and then use it as an out to not take responsibility is one thing. And actually, that’s what deserves an F.

        But to be mindful, compassionate, forgiving, honest, and non-judgmental. And then taking action is a way of trying that also makes that person accountable.

        Is this an issue of semantics? It sort of feels that way.

Leave a Reply

