Drunk and a little confused

I’m somewhat intoxicated but I’ll try to keep my handwriting legible.  We’ll see how that goes.

It has come to my attention recently that I have made a glaring error in my blogging, leading some readers to be confused as to who I am.  Now, I’m normally a very private person and refuse to share many details about my life, but this air of mystery has left one big question unanswered.

Am I a skinhead?

White power skinheads are members of a white supremacist and antisemitic offshoot of the skinhead subculture.[1][2][3][4] Many of them are affiliated with white nationalist organizations. (Wikipedia)

I have made it obvious over the last couple years that I have a shaved head and a bounty of tattoos, leading some readers to be concerned about my possible extremist affiliations.  Because all guys with shaved heads and tattoos must be haters.

Now, I had thought that my pro-gay rights and liberal politics posts (and dog pooping cartoons) would have made my positions obvious, but apparently that is not the case.  Maybe I’m just covering for some sort of subliminal coercion to make myself sympathetic and progress some sort of extremist agenda.  Apparently that shit happens.

So, I thought I’d take this time to make my position clear, if it wasn’t already.

I’M NOT A SKINHEAD.

While I might have a gloriously naked dome that’s a practical choice rather than a political one.

Four years ago my (now ex) brother in law was diagnosed with cancer.  As a show of solidarity all of the males in the family shaved their heads.  About a week later I realized that the hair on the top of my head was not growing back the way I would have liked.  I was going bald, that instance just proved it beyond any reasonable doubt.  I tried some creative ways of getting it to grow back out but decided it was a losing battle.  Ever since then I’ve just shaved my head.

I was going for a Jason Statham look

(Fast and Furious Wikia)

Rather than a…

(gulf.com, not so super sexy)

It was a practical (and somewhat aesthetic) decision.

As for the tattoos, I have a plethora.  I have the Buddhist symbol for “om” on my left bicep, a Buddhist fire wheel (from the Tibetan Book of the Dead cover) on my right shoulder, a couple Navy tattoos, a celebration of my relationship with my sister, and a couple unremarkable others.  Nothing remotely negative.

Personally, about the only things I hate are hate groups, so that’s something.

So, in case it isn’t obvious

I’m not a skinhead.

Just in case there was any doubt, because it wasn’t painfully obvious.  There was still some wiggle room for doubt.  Apparently.

In this modern world of ours, stating ones beliefs aren’t enough, we have to declare what we aren’t.  So, this is my declaration.  I’m not a hater.

Now you know, in case you hadn’t known already.  If there are any other questions I’d be happy to answer them in the comments.

24 thoughts on “Drunk and a little confused

  1. For being drunk, you sure know how to embed images and stuff really well. I couldn’t do that if I attempted it while sober. I’m a new user and stumbled on your post, so what I know of you amounts to intelligent, bald, tattoos, and not a skinhead, but I really enjoyed your post. And the image for the comb over was fantastic.

  2. Glad to hear your not a skinhead…was starting to think otherwise… :)..j/k…never would have assumed that. Like you stated, other posts you have written made that thought almost impossible. But, maybe I’m naive to people having other agendas than what they portray.

      • Well…you had to make it obvious to those that obvious isn’t clear for. Because as you said, haters rarely hide or make their dislikes subtle. Your posts have never shown a hint of such :). But hey, even if just to defend your honor…we got a post from you which are rare these days! 🙂

      • Yeah, it was one of those things that should have been obvious but was somehow not quite obvious enough… for a very, very select audience.

        And, yes, I haven’t been posting much. I haven’t been up to my usual shenanigans so there hasn’t been much to write -other than the occasional response to something on the news that bugs me. I’ll try to do better. 🙂

      • Very select indeed. Well maybe some new shenanigans instead of the usual would be interesting to write about. There’s usually always something to write :). But, happy to hear that you will try to do better. I’m sure many of us will be happy for that!

  3. Whoever would have made that assumption? Obviously no one who actively follows you, or at the very least no one who’s read more than 2 posts. I was sure you were a lover, but I wasn’t going to tell anyone. 😉

  4. OMG, Johnny! For what it’s worth, I never once EVER thought you were anything less than a cool dude.
    Skinhead wouldn’t have even occurred to me about you.
    XOX! ❤ Hope you're feeling okay this morning.

Leave a Reply

