Friday Night Writing Music

I have quite an extensive musical palate, something that might not have been obvious through previous music posts.  So, I thought this Friday we’d do some different.  When I’m writing I’ll pick out something that fits the mood of the chapter I’m working on.  Here are some of my favorite, diverse, choices.

Weird video but Loreena McKinnett is amazing all around.

I haven’t always been a fan of “island” music, but over the years I’ve seen that there’s a huge variety just like every other type of music.  If you look, you can find some good stuff.

It starts out deceptively simple, but this is one of the world’s foremost guitar players, an Australian, playing a piece composed by a guitar virtuoso in the 30’s, from Paraguay (Barrios).  As the piece progresses it gets more and more complicated, if you stick out until around the four minute mark you’ll see why this is one of the most complicated guitar compositions… ever.

If you’ve never heard this song I feel sorry for you.  Until now.  Seriously, fantastic.

Moonlight mile was a really interesting movie, one that I really enjoyed.  Whether or not the movie seems appealing to you, you should absolutely check out the soundtrack.  It’s fantastic, including songs like this one.    Ann might remember this one, she helped me figure out who the artist was when I was first looking it up.  The Moonlight Mile album is awesome, so is the Van Morrison album that has this song.

Ray Charles is one of the F’n Men.  I would say he’s THE fucking man, but I’ve found there are several depending on the topic.  But overall, he’s definitely up there in my top ten.

I don’t know how familiar you are with Counting Crows, but their debut album is one of the best I’ve ever heard.   What happened after that I don’t know, but it’s sad.  Their first album though, it’s got that magic.  If I was stuck on a deserted island with only one CD to listen to, this would be a top contender.

Back in the day (I can say that, I’m getting old now), Matchbox 20’s first album was pretty amazing.  This was back before Rob Thomas’ fame went to his head and he got involved with a bunch of questionable projects.  Back when it was just music, it’s hard to question the authenticity in their first album.

Just because, Rusted Root is awesome.  There’s just something so happy and enthusiastic about them that carries through into their music.

Walk Off the Earth is awesome, they also have fantastic sense of humor.  Not only are they amazing musicians, they make the craziest music videos.  I can’t think of a better way to wrap this all up.  I don’t know how they manage to keep a straight face during filming.

If you have any suggestions, I’d be more than happy to check them out.

10 thoughts on “Friday Night Writing Music

  1. I haven’t heard of Counting Crows since the 90s…I just had to look at wikipedia to see what happened to them and was surprised to read that they actually have been creating/playing music pretty regularly….they just didn’t disapper into the wind like I thought they did…I’m a HUGE fan of Warren Haynes-Soulshine I think is my favorite song of all time…

    • Oh yeah, they did the main theme song for one of the Shrek movies, had a couple other songs on the radio but nothing half as good as their first album. Haven’t heard of Warren Haynes, I’ll have to check him out. 🙂

  2. Island music snob!!! There are worse things in this world than Common Kings (One Direction, anyone?) The Green, Rebel Souljahz, Katchafire, and different genre but songs that will last generations, Keali’i Reichel. Boom. (btwimcheeckyandbeenreadingyourblogforabitexceptforaustraliawhichwasjustew).

    • Don’t get me started on pop “music”, it isn’t music 99% of the time. I thought I was generous with island music, I said I’ve grown to appreciate it. Just like most styles there’s good bands and bad ones. The Green is another favorite of mine.

      Australia was just ew?

      • That’s the thanks I get for trying to expand people’s perceptions and share stories that weren’t particularly comfortable even for me? 😉

      • Self-proclaimed id uncomfortable sharing stories that would cause Freud to rise from the dead just to shake your hand? Um, not convinced, Mr. Id.
        Also, Australia is the sloppy seconds slut to New Zealand. So it’s quite possible that your id will shrivel as early as tomorrow. In which case, Freud will still rise from his grave but doing it while laughing his ass off.

      • I didn’t say I was uncomfortable sharing the stories, just that the stories themselves aren’t always comfortable. I do try to be as honest about things as possible. As for Aus vs NZ, I had friends in Sydney to stay with, if I had friends in New Zealand I’d happily stay there, I’ve always wanted to go.

        And, um, my ‘id’ is quite happy and firmly in place at the moment. 😉

Leave a Reply

