It’s a new year and I’m back

For those of you who haven’t been following along on Blogger (for shame!) I recently returned from a holiday trip to Australia visiting with a few blogging friends.  There have been some great stories, many of which I will be posting about in the near future.

Now, I have been quite happy with writing on blogger for the past few months, not that I’ve been writing a lot, but a few things over the past weeks had me thinking.  First, I met with three bloggers while in Sydney, Sharn, Rambling Goat, and Nonsense Unicorn.  Each one of those three took me aside as some point, independent of the others, and asked when I was coming back to WordPress.  My answer was pretty much the same to all of them, that I didn’t feel like I needed to come back, I was happy with blogger.  But a second, more important thought quickly followed those conversations, had I not been on WordPress for six months last year I would never have “met” any of those three bloggers, or Ann, online OR in person.  In fact, most of the significant relationships I’ve formed over the last year, the friendships, the networking, the good conversations, have all been because of the community on WordPress.

Had I not made the move to WordPress March 2014, my entire year would have been completely different.  I never would have met Ann, traveled to see her and written months of posts, never met these other bloggers, I would never have spent the holidays in freakin’ Australia with friends.  All of the lessons I’ve learned this year, all the friendships I’ve formed, the directions I’m heading in my life, all the significant events were entirely, or at least somewhat, influenced by WordPress.

So, I’m back for now, take it as you will.  I haven’t been writing a lot though, so I don’t plan on moving over any posts you might have missed. On the other hand, I do have quite a bit to write about the Australia trip.  Yes, it was quite a bit of fun.  So, for those interested, stay tuned, it’s a new year and Johnny is back on WordPress.

20 thoughts on “It’s a new year and I’m back

  1. Well, I for one am glad you’re back, because it’s easier to interact with you on wordpress. And my opinion is all about me, of course.

    It might sound like a small thing, but I like the ability to “like” a post of yours when I don’t have anything to contribute by commenting (so I con’t comment). If I “like” your post I can at least tell you that I read it and think it’s good. Blogger doesn’t have that function and it’s kindofa pain.

    • I agree, there are quite a few aspects of WP that are way more convenient, easier than blogger. I also really like the ability to download a backup of the blog, something that blogger doesn’t have.

      Glad you approve. 🙂

Leave a Reply

