Friday Night Music

Forgive me if I’m not quite my cranky, crotchety, energetically spiteful self this evening, it has been a busy week.  My work is normally quite easy and stress free, not so much this week.  I’ve been fielding issues seemingly non-stop all week, calls and emails at all hours.  I’m exhausted.  I’m bone-weary, head full of sand, rock bottom exhausted.

Normally, I’d be full of piss and vinegar because it’s Friday night and I have two whole days of full-on madness to look forward to.  Now, I just want to go to bed and sleep for 48 hours.

I wanted to put up something interesting (one of the two poetry responses I’m working on), funny, or at least mildly entertaining, but I don’t have the energy to do any of that.  So instead, I’m going to put up links to a couple fun songs.

Side note: when searching for a good video to put up there were a bunch of “recommended” videos of Justin Beiber and Miley Cyrus.  It made me wonder, does anyone else ever wish those two would go on tour together and their plane would mysteriously disappear in the Bermuda Triangle?  That would make me happy.

The good news is that when I stopped at the corner store on the way home they had a huge sale on Captain Morgan…  Here’s to music and cheap booze!

I’m not sure what the point of this video is, but I bet it was a blast to make.  Makes me want to be a rock star.  Five Finger Death Punch – House of the Rising Sun (you have to get past the first two minutes to hear the cover, there’s a heavy intro)

 

If you like interesting, artsy, heavy music and haven’t heard of Opeth, you need to check them out.  They’re the only band I’ve found that can do just about everything… in the same song.  Opera, folk, rock, and metal.  Seriously talented band from Sweden.  It makes me sad that they don’t play in the US very often.

 

Happy Friday night, everyone!

2 thoughts on “Friday Night Music

    • It is a weird video, definitely. The band is really interesting though, they have a very unique blend of different styles. I can listen to their albums over and over because they don’t get monotonous, each time I notice something new and interesting.

Leave a Reply

