A Few of My Favorite Things

Ok, YouTube is addictive.  While searching for a few good videos for my previous post, “Friday Night Music”, I got hooked.  Now, I’m sitting here sipping Captain and Coke and watching music videos.

Some of you may have noticed in previous posts that I played guitar in several bands over the years.  I listen to a really wide variety of music styles but tend to find the ones that display really talented guitar players.  So, a lot of heavy music here… which might also be because I’m drinking and had a long, stressful week (I’ve even been getting work texts as I write this).  Or because it’s my fucking blog and I feel like it.  (Edit: I did add some other fun stuff after the heavies.  I’m having too much fun with this right now)

Side note: Does it really irritate anyone else that YouTube added commercials to the beginning of every video?  Fucking annoying.

So, here are a few of my favorite things:

Killswitch engage – My Last Serenade

I love they contrast between the verses and the chorus.

DragonForce – Through the Fire and Flames

If you appreciate guitar playing, the guitar solo “battle” at 3:20  is unreal.

 

Five Finger Death Punch – No One Gets Left Behind

As a veteran, the lyrics always get me.

 

Pantera – Cemetery Gates

Dimebag Darrel was the F’n man!  RIP

 

Shadows Fall – Still I Rise

The guitar players for Shadows Fall are fantastic.  If you ever want to feel like a guitar noob, they have a couple “instructional” videos on YouTube that are enough to make the most experienced guitar player feel like a beginner.

 

Ok… all of those too heavy for you?  I’ll toss in a few more that aren’t quite as angsty.  The rum is making me feel generous.

 

Kenny Wayne Shepherd – Little Wing

If you like the blues, KWS is amazing.

 

Common Kings – Wade in Your Water

I told you I had varied tastes.  Good for a chill evening with a couple cold ones!

 

Temple of the Dog – Say Hello to Heaven (I couldn’t find an ‘official’ video, sorry)

Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder, can’t go wrong.  Speaking of Eddie…

 

Pearl Jam – Yellow Ledbetter

Definitely one of my favorite bands.  I love the blues riffs in this song.  Stone Gossard is one of my heroes.

And one last, fun video to cap it all off:

Walk Off the Earth – Royals (cover)

This is a helluva talented group of people, though I have no idea how they kept straight faces while making this video.

 

 

One thought on “A Few of My Favorite Things

  1. Love it. I might need to ave a YouTube session today now. The commercials are maddening though.
    Really loving you included temple of the dog and pearl jam. I heard kws on the radio this week and was reminded how damn good he is, gonna have to check out more of his music while I’m at it.
    Thanks for this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

