Poetry update

Ok, for those of you following along, I put out a call to some poets for some work to review a couple days ago (“Poets”).  My goal was to provide constructive feedback in a way that I don’t usually see on poetry posts.  I think constructive criticism is a vital part of the writing process and wanted to show some examples.

Thankfully, two poets submitted pieces for public review.

I have finished my feedback on the first piece and sent the draft post to the writer.  I wanted her to have a chance to look it over before I posted it to make sure there wasn’t anything in there that might reflect poorly on her or something that might bother her.  I want this to be a positive experience, maybe exchange some ideas, not hurt anyone’s feelings.  I was going to post that review today but haven’t heard back from her yet.  It is a holiday here and a work day everywhere else, so I’m going to wait another day to look it over before I put it up.  And if she doesn’t respond I might start to think she’s avoiding me.

I am working on the second review, I want it to be thorough and constructive.  I’ll send it to the writer before I put it up, which should be hopefully right after I post the first review.

Thank you to the writers that submitted pieces and I appreciate everyone else’s patience.  Hopefully it’ll be worth the wait.

Leave a Reply

