Made my morning

I had an humorous experience this morning and thought I should share it.

I had a few errands to run around town and wasn’t really feeling it.  When I need a little pick-me-up I like to play my work out mix in the car really, really loudly.  I roll down all the car windows, bang my head at the stop lights, hang my arm out the window and generally pretend I’m an obnoxious rock star cruising for babes.  It gets the blood pumping.

One of my errands was to get a card for my nephew.  He just finished a charity walk for Multiple Sclerosis and I needed to send him my donation.  He also brought in way more money than he did the year before, so some congratulations were in order.

I was in the middle of town headed toward Longs for the card.  Just before Longs there was a four-way stop.  As I pulled up I noticed a beautiful young woman standing on the corner by the new Whole Foods that has the yuppies all excited.

She was a pretty brunette in a tank top and a long flowing dress.  She had the kind of yuppy/hippy look of the customers I usually see coming out of Whole Foods but I was willing to forgive her grocery choice since she was cute.

I pulled the car up to the stop sign where she was standing.  I gave her a little smile and wave, signalling that I saw her and she was welcome to cross the intersection.  She saw me, gave me a small grin and started to cross.

She was in front of my bumper when this song came on my radio.  Really, really loud.

This pretty young thing, her smile quickly turned upside down and she practically ran the rest of the way across the road.

Apparently, the guy with the shaved head, tattoos, blaring metal scared the poor little thing.

I couldn’t help it, I burst out laughing.  In my car, stopped at the four-way, laughing my ass off.

Anyone who knows me knows I’m a big teddy bear, totally fluffy and harmless, but how could she know that?

That totally made my morning.  In my head I kept seeing her scurrying across the road and I’d start laughing again.  I finishing the rest of my errands with a big grin on my face.

2 thoughts on “Made my morning

  1. I LOVE this!!! My afternoon driving mix has a variety of LL Cool J, Tupac, 50 Cent and Eminem. After a long day sitting at a desk, I listen to it nice and loud because it helps me not to murder my fellow commuters 😉 I am a very vanilla-looking staff accountant and probably seem more like I should be listening to Celine Dion and Taylor Swift.
    I should probably watch more people while I’m sitting in traffic to watch other people doing the same thing!

Leave a Reply

